What States have Legal Medical Marijuana

Currently there are 15 States that have made medical marijuana legal. Washington D.C. has also recently passed medical marijuana laws in their District. That’s right, our nation’s capitol now has medical marijuana! (while it is still illegal on the federal level)

The 15 States that currently allow medical marijuana are as follows:

Alaska; ballot measure 8 was voted on and accepted in 1998 and allows possession of 1 ounce usable marijuana, along with possession of 6 plants. (3 mature, 3 immature)

Arizona; prop 203 was passed with a vote of just 50.13% in 2010 and is being enacted in 2011. Proposition 203 allows personal growing of 12 plants for patients that live 25 miles or more away from a dispensary. It also allows the personal possession of 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana.

California; proposition 215 allows 8 ounces of usable marijuana along with 18 plants. 6 mature plants and 12 immature plants are allowed. Proposition 215 has been in effect since 1996.

Colorado; enacted in 2000 Ballot Amendment 20 allows 2 ounces of usable marijuana, and cultivation of 6 cannabis plants, 3 being mature marijuana plants, and the other 3 immature.

Washington DC; in our Nation’s Capitol, Amendment Act B18-622 passed by a vote of 13/0 in 2010 and allows 2 ounces of dried;usable marijuana, with “limits on other forms to be determined”

Hawaii; saying aloha to medical marijuana since the year 2000 when Senate Bill 862 passed. Senate Bill 862 allows 3 ounces of usable marijuana, along with cultivation of up to 7 plants. 3 mature, 4 immature marijuana plants are allowed in Hawaii.

Maine; Ballot Question 2 passed by 61% in 1999 and allows 2.5 oz. of usable marijuana and 6 plants for personal cultivation.

Michigan; Proposal 1 passed in 2008 by 63% and allows 2.5 oz usable “marijuana” and cultivation of 12 marijuana plants by either the patient, OR their caregiver whom may grow for up to 5 patients.

Montana; Initiative 148 allows medical marijuana patients to possess 1 oz usable marijuana, and to cultivate up to 6 marijuana plants for medicinal use.

Nevada; Ballot Question 9 passed by 65% in the year 2000 and allows patients to possess 1 ounce usable marijuana along with 7 marijuana plants. 3 mature plants and 4 immature marijuana plants are specified by the law.

New Jersey; Senate Bill 119 passed in 2010 and allows 2 ounces usable marijuana.

New Mexico; Passed in 2007, Senate Bill 523 allows 6 ounces of usable marijuana and 16 plants. 4 mature/12 immature.

Oregon; Ballot Measure 67 passed in 1998 and allows 24 oz usable and up to 24 plants of which 6 can be mature and 18 immature.

Rhode Island; Senate Bill 0710 passed in 2006 and allows 2.5 ounces usable marijuana and cultivation of up to 12 plants.

Vermont; Senate Bill 76 passed in 2004 and allows 2 oz usable marijuana and 9 marijuana plants. 2 mature and 7 immature plants are allowed by SB 76.

Washington; Initiative 692 passed in 1998 and allows 24 oz usable marijuana and up to 15 marijuana plants to be cultivated.